top of page
cal transparent.png
PhotoRoom_20230502_131624 (002) transparent for rollup.png

scalable

CALstore by Emerald Horizon AG

Energy storage systems for storing energy from volatile energy sources such as wind and PV systems are either very expensive (batteries, redox flow), very complex or non-existent (pump storage power plants) or very inefficient due to the Carnot process!

The CALstore system from Emerald Horizon AG solves this complex system issue with a high-temperature salt storage [HTS] with temperatures of over 500 degrees Celsius. CALstore works bi-directionally, i.e. both Power2Heat for storing energy and the extraction of Heat2Power from the HTS.

The high temperature of the HTS makes it possible to store a large amount of thermal energy in a small volume, which can be used for recovery as e.g. electricity using a gas turbine if and when it is needed. The temperature of the HTS can vary depending on the salt used and the design of the storage system and can be adjusted to technical/economic requirements for the overall energy balance.

The CALstore is dimensioned with 5,000[kWh] as heat energy storage volume at 500°C. CALstore is housed in a standardized 20-foot container and is easy to transport and use. Scaling is possible by coupling with additional 20-foot modules, and in cooperation with the CALfunction 10-foot modules, functions can be adapted to existing feed-in energy sources (wind, PV, hydropower, etc...) and/or to energy extraction requirements can be realized in the 100kW to MW range.

With a daily utilization factor of 80%-100%, the energy stored from renewable energy sources of 5,000[kWh] corresponds to an energy volume of 1.46[GWh] to 1.83[GWh] or a CO2 saving of 438-548 per year tons/year (calculation basis: IPCC 10-40g/kWh). This quantity corresponds to the total energy quantity of 146-183 single-family houses per CALstore system [based on Eurostat: ~10,000 [kWh].

FFG_Logo_DE_RGB_1500px.png

The prototype development:

Modulare high temprature-
liquid-salt energy store

is funded by FFG within their base-programme! 2023-2026 FFG-project-number: 903946

bottom of page

top of page
cal durchsichtig.png
PhotoRoom_20230502_131624 (002) transparent für rollup.png

skalierbar

CALstore by Emerald Horizon AG

Energiespeichersysteme zur Speicherung von Energie aus volatilen Energiequellen, wie Wind und PV-Systemen sind entweder sehr teuer (Batterien, Redox-Flow), sehr aufwendig oder nicht vorhanden (Pumpspeicherkraftwerke) oder Carnot-Prozess bedingt sehr ineffizient!

Das CALstore System von Emerald Horizon AG löst dieses komplexe Systemfrage durch einen Hoch-Temperatur-Salzspeicher [HTS] mit Temperaturen über 500 Grad Celsius. CALstore funktioniert bi-direktional, d.h. sowohl Power2Heat für die Einspeicherung von Energie als auch die Extraktion Heat2Power aus dem HTS.

Die hohe Temperatur des HTS ermöglicht es, eine große Menge an thermischer Energie in kleinstem Volumen zu speichern, die zur Wiedergewinnung als z.B.: Strom mittels Gasturbine genutzt werden kann, wenn und wann sie benötigt wird. Die Temperatur des HTS kann je nach verwendetem Salz und Design des Speichersystems variieren und an technisch-/wirtschaftliche Anforderungen für der Gesamt-Energiebilanz angepasst werden.

Das CALstore ist mit 5.000[kWh] als Wärme-Energiespeichervolumen bei 500°C dimensioniert. CALstore ist standardisiert in einem 20-Fuß-Container untergebracht und erlaubt einen einfachen Transport und Einsatz. Durch Kopplung mit weiteren 20-Fuß-Modulen ist eine Skalierung möglich, sowie in Kooperation mit den CALfunction 10-Fuß-Modulen können Funktionen angepasst an vorhandene Einspeise-Energiequellen (Wind, PV, Wasserkraft, etc…) und/oder an Energieextraktion-Bedarf im 100kW bis MW Bereich realisiert werden.

Die aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen gespeicherte Energie von 5.000[kWh] entspricht bei einem täglichen Auslastungsfaktor von 80%-100% pro Jahr einer Energiemenge von 1,46[GWh] bis 1,83[GWh] bzw. einer CO2-Einsparung von 438-548 Tonnen/Jahr (Berechnungs-Basis: IPCC 10-40g/kWh). Diese Menge entspricht je CALstore System der Gesamtenergiemenge von 146-183 Einfamilien-Häuser [Basis Eurostat: ~10.000[kWh].

FFG_Logo_DE_RGB_1500px.png

Die Entwicklung des Prototypen:

Modularer Hochtemperatur-
Flüssigsalz Energiespeicher

wird gefördert von FFG im Basisprogramm! 2023-2026 FFG-Projektnummer: 903946

bottom of page